Today is June 18, 2024 ()

Our History

Created in 1971 by a group of Capital Region Reform Jews, B’nai Sholom was conceived from the beginning as a small and responsive Reform congregation. Those who first met in the United Fourth Presbyterian Church (made available through the kindness of Reverend Bruce Miller and his congregation) – were dedicated to making a place of welcome for Jews who appreciated tradition, but were seeking a modern, more democratic interpretation. They honored openness and warmth, scholarship, lifelong learning.

In 1979, the congregation was ready for its own quarters, moving to the current home on Whitehall Road. Following the tenures of Rabbis Alvin Roth, Michael Kramer, and Harry Rothstein, Rabbi Donald P. Cashman became our spiritual leader in 1985 and led the congregation for 35 years before retiring in 2020. Rabbi Katz was chosen in 2020 to serve as Interim rabbi while the congregation seeks its new permanent rabbi. On July 1, 2021, we welcomed Rabbi Danielle Weisbrot as our new settled rabbi.

B’nai Sholom has responded to changes in the Reform movement while remaining firmly rooted in the deepest principles of Judaism. Every service that takes place in the Sanctuary reminds us that we are the current adherents of a strong and sustaining tradition in a place of accessibility and friendship that is our true spiritual home.

Founders of B’nai Sholom

Mr. and Mrs. Albert J. Abrams
Mrs. Suzanne S. Ames
Mr. and Mrs. Gates B. Aufsesser
Mrs. Arthur M. Berg
Mr. and Mrs. Norman Brickman
Mrs. Michael M. Dobris
Mrs. Benjamin Dubb
Mr. and Mrs. Richard M. Englander
Mrs. Marvin Finkelstein
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph R. Greenstein
Mrs. Sonya E. Krakower
Dr. and Mrs. William Laufer
Miss Rose Lichtenfels
Mrs. Martin Loeb
Miss Ethel E. Metzendorf
Dr. and Mrs. Richard P. Propp
Mr. and Mrs. Ira H. Rheingold
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur A. Rosenberg
Mr. John Samuels
Mr. and Mrs. Eliot Saxe
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur T. Singer
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Somerdin
Mr. and Mrs. Franklin J. Steinhardt
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Stein, Jr
Dr. and Mrs. Paul Tafler
Mrs. Ruth G. Warshaw

Mr. and Mrs. Frederic Adler
Dr. and Mrs. Manuel Aronson
Dr. and Mrs. Richard F. Balsam
Mr. and Mrs. Stanley S. Bergman
Mr.and Mrs. Louis J. Buchman
Mr. Arnold E. Dubb
Mrs. Irving Englander
Mr. and Mrs. Eric M. Engler
Mr. and Mrs. Robert I. Greenbaum
Mr. and Mrs. Herman P. Kessler
Mr. and Mrs. Max Kuperman
Miss Dorothy Lazaroff
Mr. and Mrs. David G. Loeb
Mrs. Beatrice R. Lowenstein
Mrs. Samuel Metzendorf
Dr. and Mrs. Solomon Reznek
Mr. and Mrs. Harold R. Ronson
Dr. and Mrs. I. Alberto Sandler
Mrs. Bernice Samuels
Mr. and Mrs. Walter A. Saxe
Miss Mimi A. Singer
Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Sonneborn
Mr. and Mrs Robert Stein
Dr. and Mrs. Martin R. Symansky
Mr. and Mrs. David Velk

Contact Us

420 Whitehall Road, Albany, NY 12208
518-482-5283|Email Us

Office Hours

Tuesday through Friday 9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Closed Mondays

Stay Connected